My Two Women

20 Oct

artist: Vykky Gamble

The two women in my life, they seem to visit more lately

I don’t like them in the same room, they do not get along

Can there be a harmony between them? Sometimes I believe so

Other times I don’t believe so; they are so very much different

They both try to get me to look at them, and give me reasons why to

It doesn’t help either that I love one more, and begun to dislike the other

It wasn’t always that way; they used to take turns being with me…

It is a bit complicated; the one I love scares me, I don’t know her well

I am comfortable around the one I now feel some dislike for, I know her

 

They have both been with me at different points in my life journey

The one I love more is Beautiful, Loving, Gentle, Tender, Passionate, Joyful

As she walks it’s like there’s a dance rhythm; a colorful air of life follows her

I see her smile in her eyes; her laugh is hearty; she is hope-full and faith-full

She believes nothing is impossible in the name of Pure Love; she’ll take risks

She is also sometimes lawless, and stubborn, for good reasons she says…

When she is with me I can’t deny feeling like a blooming flower…renewed

 

The other woman too is beautiful, loving, sensitive, brilliant, thought-full

I think a little too thought-full; she walks quietly and has her reservations

She has her story and the marks that come with it; she smiles, but there is more

She is also sometimes selfish, stubborn and aggressive, for fair reasons she says…

She enjoys many pleasures, healthy and harmful; in our times together I feel…safe

 

Do I need them both in some ways? Again the talk of a sense of balance

I care about them both; they are a part of me, they live within me… are me

Some days one watches on in silence, she is not up to fight for me or with me

Other days they both go through the plans of the day with me; can be troubling

Which one will walk with me today? They may stand each other today…for now

13 Responses to “My Two Women”

  1. William Leed December 24, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    Very thought provoking. I enjoyed it very much. A delight to see who challenges us, who teaches us, who nurtures us etc,,,, different things from each person. Good depth.
    William

  2. nonyeuka November 24, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Riveting! really love the mystery,we can all relate in some way….

  3. voiceoftruelove October 25, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by everyone and for the encouragement! : ) Enjoyed seeing some of the speculations about who the two women are…i was talking about myself…

  4. The Noiseless Cuckooclock October 25, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    very lovely piece.

    a special ode to part of ourselves, it has layers of meanings when digging it.

    🙂

  5. Sweet Pea October 25, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    oh i like this.
    reminds me of myself in some way….
    i think most of us have more than one person living within us. and it just takes a slight shove from the outside to decide which one will rule the day.

    and i thank you for your compliment
    on my post. =)

  6. brian miller October 24, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    nice…this made me think of the tale of two wolves…and which one you feed…nice slow reveal on this that it is you…and i get it…nice…

  7. charlesmashburn October 22, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    I kept reading, expecting one to be your writing. Then thought maybe wife and daughter. I guess you simply have two women! I would not want that problem. One is plenty!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/perfect-love/

  8. Sarah Johnston October 21, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    this is incredible full of images and wondering which one will be with you today if one or the other or both and if they can get along together wonder full of expression and so well done
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/20/taken-from-me-on-halloween-night/

  9. The Orange Tree October 21, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    incredible.

  10. The Cello Strings October 21, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    fine sentiments, you care them both, hope that they take it the way you wish them to get it.

    lovely entry.

  11. manicddaily October 21, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    This is an intriguing poem. AT first, I thought it mother and wife, then seemed to change tone–and to become more complex.

  12. Darryl Davis October 21, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    I enjoyed this thoughtful piece

    • neha December 11, 2011 at 8:57 am #

      Very interesting piece, I can relate them both to the angel and the devil within. Sometimes a mixture of both good and bad are what’s best for one’s decisions. We can’t always be saint-like or go completely aggressive when it comes to our lives. A balance is what matters!!

      Thank you for stopping by my blog 🙂

Does this mean something to you? Leave a Reply

